Outstanding Graduating Student Awards 2022

Group photo of the 2022 Outstanding Graduating Student Awards Congratulations to the eight College of Science and Mathematics (CSM) Outstanding Graduating Student Award recipients!

The College's 2021-2022 student recipients and their faculty mentors are:

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

  • Master of Science in Chemical Sciences: Simon Young
    Faculty Honoree: Dr. Daniela Tapu, Professor of Chemistry
  • Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry: Jose Lara-Sanchez
    Faculty Honoree: Dr. Glen Meades, Senior Lecturer of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Bachelor of Science in Chemistry: Ethan Wagner
    Faculty Honoree: Dr. Graham Collier, Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology

  • Master of Science in Integrative Biology: Denyelle Kilgour
    Faculty Honoree: Dr. Sarah Guindre-Parker, Assistant Professor of Biology
  • Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science: Julie Allsen
    Faculty Honoree: Dr. Sarah Guindre-Parker, Assistant Professor of Biology

Department of Mathematics

  • Bachelor of Science in Mathematics: Andrew Johnson
    Faculty Honoree: Dr. Jennifer Vandenbussche, Professor of Mathematics

Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology

  • Bachelor of Science in Biology: Gavin Treadaway
    Faculty Honoree: Dr. Ramya Rajagopalan, Assistant Professor of Cell Biology

Department of Physics

  • Bachelor of Science in Physics: Ethan Winchester
    Faculty Honoree: Dr. Jeremy Gulley, Associate Professor of Physics

Each year, department faculty in the College of Science and Mathematics choose one outstanding graduating student per academic degree program. Outstanding students are selected based on notable achievements within their major, including having earned an exceptional GPA, as well as in extracurricular, research or professional activities.